Training for Etape Caledonia

crescent
crescent Posts: 1,201
First attempt at the Etape this year and really looking forward to it. I've never done 81 miles before but did a few 50 - 60 milers last year quite comfortably. I managed the Glasgow - Edinburgh Pedal for Scotland in a fairly easy 3hrs so felt confident in putting my name down for the third tier of entries for the Etape with a personal goal of less than 5hrs. I've managed to keep in reasonable shape over the winter using a mixture of spin classes, toning exercises and the occasional MTB outing and with the better weather in recent weeks I have been out almost every day. What I am concerned about is that I cannot seem to get my average speed above 15mph :oops: . I have a mixture of routes that I follow and I feel as if I'm coping with them as well as, if not better, than ever, yet my computer refuses to register my average as greater than 15mph. Any advice? (I have checked the calibration of my computer and it is spot on :cry: )
Also, as I'm sure there are many on here who are planning to do the Etape this year, what is your current training schedule?

Cheers
Bianchi ImpulsoBMC Teammachine SLR02 01Trek Domane AL3“When I see an adult on a bicycle, I do not despair for the future of the human race. “ ~H.G. Wells Edit - "Unless it's a BMX"

Comments

• beinbhan
    beinbhan Posts: 52
    if you can average 15mph on your own you will have no problem on the etape the numbers going round are worth an extra couple of mph the route is reasonably flat with only a couple of climbs that aren't really that hard. Just get the miles in, if you have done 60 miles before you won't have a problem getting round
  • crescent
    Cheers for the encouragement, I'll keep putting in the miles and see what happens. The last thing I want is to become one of these people who obsesses about speed / time and stops enjoying just riding my bike. I fully expect to finish the course, 5hrs would just be a nice personal goal though.