Fox 140 talas RL fitted to Cube ltd

MTB-Matt
MTB-Matt Posts: 46
edited March 2012 in MTB workshop & tech
Hi

I have just fitted a pair of FOX 140 talas RL (140/120/100) to my 2011 cube ltd comp (original fork 100mm travel) They are 30mm longer in length in the lower leg and I was thinking of running them on the 120 travel. Will this extra 30mm be noticeable or will the preload on the forks compress and compensate for this

I took it out on a dirt track and they felt awesome on a short blast, so much smoother ride

Comments

• MTB-Matt
    I think the extra 30mm fork leg length will slow the steering and make the bike more stable at higher speed ??
  • warpcow
    warpcow Posts: 1,448
    It might also tear the front end off the frame, but you never know.
  • MTB-Matt
    I doubt it, I'm an ex aerospace engineer and cnc machinist and the frame is 7005 series alloy.
  • supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    Makes no difference what the frame is made of if the headtube/top tube/bottom tube is not reinforced to take the extra load or the tube walls are thin. Which in the case of an xc frame, are much lighter than say a jump or AM frame. Though I doubt 140mm would kill it, but would kill your warranty!

The frame is warrantied for 120mm fork max, which is what I'd drop them to.
  • MTB-Matt
    That's what I'm running them at, the warranty is neither here nor there.
  • MTB-Matt
    I appreciate the input on the frame but judging by some of the 6061 frames (the grade matters alot) of mtb's with 140 travel forks as standard the cube has a very decent headstock weld area

I'm not worried about the frame strength thats fine, it's the handling and turning speed I am wondering about!

Cube, giant, lapierre etc etc dont make frames on the limits of the components fitted, they don't want their frames breaking so everything manufactured is within true health and safety margins and will be made to take alot more stress than is asked of the rider or components.