I'm sorry if this has been asked...

seng84
seng84 Posts: 6
edited March 2012 in Commuting general
a million times before but unfortunately I'm a total novice on this subject.

Due to the scandalous price of petrol these days I've been left with little choice than to start cycling the 25 mile round trip to work.

I'm going to be using my work's bike to work scheme and my budget is about 800 pounds including accesorieces so I have about 500 pounds to repay after the tax relief.

I have been into The Edinbrough Bike Coop near me and the helpful assistant has recommended getting a hybrid. I don't fancy a racer and I don't really feel like I need a mountain bike. I'm 6 foot 3 so wanted something comfortable.

So I guess I'm looking for a hybrid priced around 700. Can anyone assist?

Also, what are the main accesories I should be getting?

I'd be using it 99% for commuting on roads/tarmac. I may have the occasional ride out on a weekend but it's not really a consideration.

Thanks in advance

Comments

• Poves
    Poves Posts: 23
    Hi and welcome,

A hybrid may be a good choice for the sort of use you will be giving your new cycle, alternatively it may be worth considering a touring cycle.
    Hybrids tend to be designed for on road with a small off road capability such as use on tow paths ( A front suspension fork may look cool - but will probably do little for your comfort - but add a lot of unnecessary weight on a bike used for commuting)
    A touring cycle is designed to cover miles quickly and comfortably - but also built strongly enough to be able to carry luggage etc. So a tourer may look a bit like a racing bike - but will be much better equipped and the frame geometry will be aimed at creating a comfortable and stable ride rather than a fast and responsive ride.