Course / Venue guides and reviews - what to expect, where

AlainR
AlainR Posts: 88
edited June 2019 in Amateur race
As a rookie racer this year, it's my first time attending a lot of races in the UK and as part of my mental and physical prep I like to have an idea as to what to expect from the various race venues. It also helps me to work out which venues are likely to suit me and which are worth travelling for.

As such, as I race different venues / courses / tracks, I'll be writing a summary of my findings in the hope that others can benefit too. Ive only raced a couple of venues so far but with varying pack sizes, weather conditions and categories of racing they've proved to be slightly different week on week.

Please feel free to add your reviews of other venues that you've experienced too. It doesn't need to be closed circuit. Velodrome, road course, TT etc would all be good!

Ludgershall, Wiltshire

Ludgershall is based on a REME test track. It's a circa 1 mile long closed circuit loop with pretty much two straights and two corners, save for a slight s-bend entering the final corner. It's surrounded mostly by fairly dense trees, which can be great for sheltering from the wind, however more often than not the wind howls into the final corner and then pushes you nicely down the main straight.

The course is pretty narrow at times and racing lines can squeeze the group up at times, which can prove interesting give that there is no run off as the boundaries are set by an immediate abundance of trees. The track surface is pretty uneven and is made up of various sections of Tarmac and concrete slabs with narrow ruts in between. These ruts and bumps can be rather interesting in the corners as you find your bike twitching about. In the wet, it can be very twitchy indeed.

The course is very slightly undulating, but only by a few meters, so is more of a false flat so tends to follow the typical pattern of power, corner, power, corner...