2012 Mountain Mayhem

mxdave
mxdave Posts: 8
edited March 2012 in XC and Enduro
Right, just signed up our team for our first ever mountain bike event - and it's the Mountain Mayhem!! All complete novices, and we had a shake-down ride at the FoD last weekend, just to see how much work we have to do between now and mid-June. Any advice??

Comments

• homers_double
    homers_double Posts: 7,976
    From my experience at 24hr races (SITS three times) I'd say go to enjoy it, you're not going to win so have fun.

We set out with the intention of completeing one (8 mile ish) lap per hour and it worked quite well. We weren't going to set the racing world on fire but wanted some structure to our event and eventually managed 27 laps.

Food is quite important; Ride - rest - eat - rest... rinse and repeat 8 times.

Take enough underwear for a change after every lap, clean boxers are a godsend after lap 5...

We did single laps the first year, drowned in the mud the second and did singles the third year with double laps at night which worked out better.

Glow sticks are a laugh at night - do not take cow bells.

Take your own supply of toilet roll.

Take every item of cycling clothing you own, if its wet you will need them.

Take every spare part you have, if it's muddy you will need them, year 2 saw several broken mechs, frames worn down to the paint and gears jammed solid with mud.

That said if its sunny its a blast!
    SITS2010010.jpg

The LeMans style start isn't as fun as you think, 3/4 of a mile run in cycling shoes to spread the field isn't all its cracked up to be.

SITS2010007.jpg

We are Team Cake!
    Advocate of disc brakes.
  • njee20
    njee20 Posts: 9,613
    Take enough underwear for a change after every lap, clean boxers are a godsend after lap 5...

Why would you be wearing boxers at all? Clean cycling kit is good advice, it's amazing how much fresher it makes you feel.