Dropper post... What are my options?

Rushmore
Rushmore Posts: 674
edited March 2012 in MTB buying advice
Ok.. Looking at maybe getting a dropper post after seeing how easy they are to use after riding with someone who had one...

So what are my options / prices... pros and cons?
Always remember.... Wherever you go, there you are.

Ghost AMR 7500 2012
De Rosa R838

Comments

• delcol
    delcol Posts: 2,848
    not that i am an expert i never used one, far to fancy for my liking..

but the rockshox reverb one seem to score the best reviews

one of my mates has a specialized comand post it's took some abuse but i know he did have a few issues with it-it was slow returning to the up positons but after a bleed it was fine..

now to open a can of worms and throw the cat into the pigeons.

the ks ones are or were poo they may have sorted out the issues now but i know back in 09 3 mates had them and ended up binning them as they had to much trouble with them..

same with the early crank brothers joplin one. but i sure the newer ones sorted out their issues..

my money would go on the rockshox reverb
  • b45her
    b45her Posts: 147
    get the gravity dropper, their the only type of adjustable post that isn't a pain in the arse , its ugly but its super reliable and needs almost no maintenence .
    ribble sportive for the black stuff

Canyon Strive AL 8.0 for the brown and green stuff.
  • oodboo
    oodboo Posts: 2,171
    +1 for the reverb, never owned one but just seems the best but I might be inclined to wait to see what comes of the crank brothers kronolog (but I don't like their remote).
    I love horses, best of all the animals. I love horses, they're my friends.

Strava
  • 1mancity2
    1mancity2 Posts: 2,355
    edited March 2012
    you don't say what diameter seatpost your frame takes but,

I have a reverb and it's brilliant, easy to setup and use just watch the cable routing if on a full suss.