Newbie needs advice... Canyon, Lapierre, Mondraker or Cube?

Bluenose17
Bluenose17 Posts: 12
edited July 2012 in MTB buying advice
Hello All, 1st post....go easy!

I'm fairly new to all this but can ride a bike! :D

I 've asked for help on another forum and it seems an all mountian full suss bike with around 140mm travel is the one for me (4or5 miles on the road to find the off-rd stuff)

I've been reccomended the Lapierre Zesty, Canyon AM, Mondraker Foxy. Just been to the LBS and they have the Cube bikes. The guy in the shop talked about the Cube Strereo PRO and even the carbon version - Strereo super HPC PRO. Me being big licks (as my dad used to call me) I want the Carbon one!... So going from spending around £1300 I may now spend £2300!

Am I going over the top as I'm no pro?
What are poeple's thoughts on these bikes? (Before all this I was looking at Trek & Specialized)

Comments

• mmafan
    mmafan Posts: 26
    Get the most bang for your buck.... It doesnt matter if you're a pro or not, not everyone wearing a TLD D3 on the trails is a pro! Carbon is light and fast and pretty rigid, so if you like that feel then get it. I got a Canyon Strive and am super stoked with it. I would suggest that if you're going for a AM bike then get one with a dropper post if possible.
    Spesh Rockhopper 2005, Giant Glory Zero 2007, KTM Flavour 2009, Canyon Strive 7.0 2011
  • mmafan wrote:
    am super stoked

you've beenn listening to the pro's too much......."super stoked.........super sweet......super this...stoked that"
    If you don't fall off you're not trying hard enough!
  • Whats a dropper post - I saw the Whyte bike had a button raise/drop the seat post. I presume its that?

Any views on the bikes themselves?

Thinking Cube or Lepierre as LBS sells them and the Canyon is like a 3 month wait???
  • Bluenose17 wrote:
    Whats a dropper post - I saw the Whyte bike had a button raise/drop the seat post. I presume its that?

Any views on the bikes themselves?