XC/trail HT build

fredy
fredy Posts: 308
edited March 2012 in MTB buying advice
Hi all, I am planning to build up (or upgrade depending how you look at it) a bike for long distance XC, commuting and surrey hills trail riding. It's not needed for any big stuff or DH duties but I don’t want the bike the break after a crash or jump. My main reason for posting this topic is that I have never built a bike before and I know that there are a number of compatibility issues to look out for (I’m thinking mostly about the head set/forks and BB areas). So if I can give you my initial plan then I would greatly appreciate any pointers regarding its feasibility and also any tips or spec suggestions you may have.

Anyhoo, here's my spec list:
- Must be light for XC purposes
- Relatively tough for trail use
- Ugly/low value for theft proofing (this isn't too important)
- 120mm fork (not really fussed though tbh)
- Initial outlay will be about £800.

To start off, I have a Carrera fury '09 as a donor; my guess is that to lose most weight I should swap out the frame first. The on-one 456 carbon looks ideal as its light, not too expensive and comes with no decals so harder for thieves to sell!
Next on the list of things to swap would be the cranks as my current set (truvativ something-a-rather with powerspline BB) is heavy and unreliable and at a guess they probably don't even fit the on-one frame (random guess though, I’ve not checked yet). I don't really know what to get here, my plans is to search merlin cycles for anything in the sale that is light and reliable (deore XT perhaps).