Kenda Slant 6...

Northwind
Northwind Posts: 14,675
edited March 2012 in MTB buying advice
...looks like certain death. Anyone using these? I've been curious to try one for a while, thinking it was a halfway house between the smallblock 8 and nevegal but the knobs seem even less knobby than the SB. Should I leave it til the heady weekend of summer?
Uncompromising extremist

Comments

• nferrar
    nferrar Posts: 2,511
    Planning on trying these in summer myself, I figure I like the Nevegal and SM8 (obviously in different situations) so why not try a combo.
  • largephil
    largephil Posts: 358
    I've been running a Slant 6 on the back of my full sus for about 6 months now. I run a smallblock 8 in the summer and bought this for a bit of extra grip when it started getting too muddy for the smallblock. I didnt expect to run it all winter, but I have. Its not great in mud but its a nice fast tyre and its done me ok so far. I'm planning on running it up front in the summer with the samllblock on the back.
  • Northwind
    Northwind Posts: 14,675
    Cool, ta... Fitted it last night, still looks like a slick that someone's drawn knobbles on with a marker pen but we'll see how it goes :lol:
    Uncompromising extremist
  • snotty badger
    snotty badger Posts: 1,593
    Noticed these in this months Singletrack mag- got a really good review- surprisingly good for what looks like a summer tyre apparently.
    08 Pitch Pro
    14 Kona Unit
    Kona Kula SS
    Trailstar SS
    94 Univega Alpina 5.3
  • Proutster
    Proutster Posts: 785
    Just ordered 2 for summer back tyres for the Trance & the DMR.

Went for 2.35" Stick E, so I think I may well have completely cancelled the fast rolling tread with the width & sticky compound - Doh!!

Will be interesting to hear anyone's experiences.
  • angry_bird
    angry_bird Posts: 3,786