Prospective first 50

OwenB
OwenB Posts: 606
edited February 2012 in Road beginners
Hi guys, I've been cycling again for a couple of years now but never really taken it seriously and decided lately that I should consider doing some longer rides aiming initially for a 50 then hopefully by the end of summer look to crack 100 miles in a ride.
I have no problem riding 30-40 miles but I've never managed to go that little bit further, but I've got a friend visiting in April and I suggested this route http://ridewithgps.com/routes/892460 which covers 54 miles and takes in Hardnott and Wrynose passes, and now I'm thinking perhaps I should have looked to suggest a simpler challenge.

At the moment I'm commuting (20 miles round trip) 3 times a week then getting a couple of hours at the weekend do you think this amount of riding is enough? I'm mainly concerned at the climbing as I'm a hefty bloke at 19 stone but hoping to lose at least a stone before then which will make it easier somewhat.
Most of my rides are undulating if not hilly due to the area I live in being on the outskirts of the lake district.

Help and advice would be most appreciated.

Comments

• Omar Little
    Omar Little Posts: 2,010
    Normally i'd say if you have no problem doing 30-40 miles then the step up to 50 is quite easy, you already have the fitness just remember to drink and eat a bit more.

However that route looks quite hard - you'll still be able to do it but it will be one of the harder 50 mile loops in the country and you may suffer a bit in places! Hardknott in particular is an absolute bastard of a climb. If you have to get off and walk there do not feel too bad about it, you are far from alone in resorting to that!

IMO it is great loop to choose for a first 50 as you will have a real sense of achievement at the end of it.
  • motdoc
    motdoc Posts: 97