London to Paris Cycle Ride - Advice welcome please!

Sarah_Fire
Sarah_Fire Posts: 3
edited February 2012 in Tour & expedition
I am a wholetime Firefighter with Dorset Fire and Rescue Service, last year unfortunately I was injured during a job and spent some time at Harcombe House on a rehabilitation programme, which is run by the Firefighters Charity to help serving and retired fire service personnel.

Having received such fantastic physiotherapy and rehabilitation treatment through the Firefighters Charity, I have decided to get involved in one of charity’s challenges in order to give something back. Therefore, on 1 August 2012, I will be participating in the London to Paris Cycle Ride! I look forward to meeting the challenge and doing something beneficial for members of the fire community who are in need of support.

I have already started training, although I still don't have a road bike at the moment. It would be fantastic if anyone on here knows of a company which would be willing to donate or loan a road bike for the ride, or failing that, please advise me on a light weight road bike which wouldn't cost too much.

I am keen to know any information and recommendations on training, fundraising, kit etc etc from regular road cyclists and individuals who have participated in similar events please.

A link to my justgiving page can be found below if anyone would like to support me in my challenge and help the Firefighters Charity.
http://www.justgiving.com/sarahbascombe

Thank you for your help, Sarah x

Comments

• Jay dubbleU
    Jay dubbleU Posts: 3,159