Dialled Bikes - MK2 alpine

unityjon
unityjon Posts: 27
edited February 2012 in Your mountain bikes
This is the first time i've built a MTB, done loads of BMX's in the glory years so here we go....

A little background, i started riding about 6months ago on an old Saracen Xile that had been knocking about since 2000(ish) i liked the geometry but it was bulky and rigid with apalling triple crown Zoom forks, as i started to get into riding MTB i was begning to out ride the Saracen and it was starting to let me down so here we go....

i had a pretty tight budget so I researched every component online to find good parts (from their reviews) at the right prices (web deals / end of season sales etc)

A call to Mike at Dialled bikes sorted the frame...

2012-01-04190106.jpg

FSA orbit headset holding a set of Rockshox Secktor RL (u-turn) to handle the odd jumps
2012-01-06150426.jpg

charge spoon to keep me seated sat on a Ocatane8 air sprung post (for those hard landings)
2012-01-21144911.jpg

Ragley stubbing stem and Odi ruffians on some D31-eight bars to keep control and the cockpit small, how i like it.
2012-01-17182028.jpg

Shimano Deore 10sp groupset inc brakes and hubs
2012-01-06083550.jpg
2012-01-06083523.jpg

some Mavic en520 as they're the better 'old' model still available if you search hard enough, i wrapped them with High Rollers 26x3.2 (could do with some new ones really !)

thats just about it, only rode it for the first time last sat and need to dial in my dialled bike.. pun intended but it feels a blast to ride, very responsive.
2012-01-20114247.jpg

2012-01-27124452.jpg

2012-01-27124445.jpg

My build may not have the most up to date/lightest/desirable components to be honest but by researching and buying the parts individually, the parts are good, recommended and by taking advantage of online offers etc. i saved about £800 on the build of this, one of the best things i've done ! and i'm looking forward to getting out on it and enjoying it.