Are the Nukeproof DH rigs overpriced & over-heavy?

felix.london
felix.london Posts: 4,067
edited February 2012 in MTB buying advice
I am by no means an expert on DH bikes (in fact I'm a complete noob) but I am in the market for one.

These new Nukeproof complete bikes look good but seem expensive & heavy compared to the competition (especially the 'PRO' model) or am I missing something?

http://www.bikeradar.com/mtb/news/article/2012-nuke-proof-complete-bikes-first-look-32991

Cheers.
"Why have that extra tooth if you're not using it?" - Brian Lopes

Votec V.SX Enduro 'Alpine Thug' 2012/2013 build

Trek Session 8

Comments

• P-Jay
    P-Jay Posts: 1,478
    They seem pretty reasonably priced compared to most of the stuff out there to me.

They could probably do with a model between the two.
  • Anonymous
    Anonymous Posts: 79,667
    Don't seem that expensive for what they are.

Always check the component list add up the value of that. Looking at those specs for the £3k+ DH Pro rig, expensive forks and roughly X0 groupset (nearly £1k in the groupset there, especially considering the brakes are £400 alone!) and with the stem, headset and bars you've got £2k already before the wheels. Frame and rear shock would be fairly normal price then.

Component prices are the main part of the value for money in a bike. The rest is whether the frame is good enough quality for the job and the right ride for you.

The weight - 39lbs for the DH Pro. Heavy for an AM bike, not for DH I guess, but you're not looking to be pedalling this thing up hills.

Thing is though, that's the RRP. No one (in their right mind) pays the RRP on bikes now. Discounted, get them a year old, ex-demo, second hand, etc.
  • felix.london
    Yeah - right fair enough but I'm really comparing the 'Comp' model to the Rose Beefcake DH 2 and the Canyon Torque FRX 6.0 Speedzone

http://www.rosebikes.co.uk/article/rose-beef-cake-dh-2-524526/aid:524537

http://www.canyon.com/_uk/mountainbikes/bike.html?b=2579