Being charged postage

tofu21
tofu21 Posts: 359
edited January 2012 in MTB buying advice
Hello,

I order a helmet from a website and it was shipped free of charge.

When I got it and tried it on it didn't fit. I returned the item at my cost for a refund. They have now refunded me minus £3 for postage. This follows there returns policy on their website which I didn't read before ordering.

I've used the company a few times but have not returned anything before.

I know that £3 isn't a lot of money but it's more the principal than anything.

I thought that keeping the £3 for postage charges was against distant selling regluations etc....

Has anyone with a more legal brain than mine looked into this in the past?

thanks
Simon

Comments

• JimboM
    JimboM Posts: 380
    I'm no legal expert but I think you'll find that because it was your mistake ie ordered the wrong size they are within their rights to charge postage. If the product was faulty then postage should be down to them
    Cannondale Synapse 105
    Giant FCR3
    GT Avalanche 3.0
    Canyon Nerve AM 6.0
  • d3matt
    d3matt Posts: 510
    This is a tricky one. It is fair enough to charge the postage as you returned the helmet because you effectively have changed your mind - i.e. there's no fault with the product or the retailer hasn't made a mistake. If I was the retailer, I wouldn't want to be loosing money on returns when I'd done nothing wrong. It's hard enough trying to deal with opened packaging and getting that return fit for resale again.
    After all, if you'd purchased this helmet in a highstreet shop, you would have incurred time and costs (fuel, parking etc) to go and buy it in the first place and then again to return it. You wouldn't expect the retailer to pay for your parking or bus fare to return a product back to the store!
    But then as the customer, you may be right about the distant selling regs.

Riding this Boardman Team FS 2010. Also trying my first blog.
  • bails87