France Coast to Coast - S to N

GarryM
GarryM Posts: 77
edited February 2012 in Tour & expedition
Hi,
I am cycling through France in a few months' time and just wondered if anyone might have any suggestions as to particular towns or places along my route which I should try and visit/cycle through? I won't have much time for sightseeing as I'll be cycling most of the day but as I have no local knowledge at all, I can see it would be very easy to miss lovely places or routes that would add little or nothing to my daily mileages if I only knew about them!
My route is:
Day 1 - Port du Bouc (near Marseille) to Nyon (via Mont Ventoux)
Day 2 - on to Annonay
Day 3 - on to Noiretable (this looks to be a small village - anyone know it?)
Day 4 - on to Montlucon
Day 5 - on to Loches
Day 6 - on to Segre
Day 7 - finish St Malo
Any help offered will be much appreciated.

Comments

• You might find this link with map helpful

http://www.francethisway.com/most-beaut ... llages.php
  • andymiller
    andymiller Posts: 2,856
    GarryM wrote:
    I have no local knowledge at all, I can see it would be very easy to miss lovely places or routes that would add little or nothing to my daily mileages if I only knew about them!

I think it would be worth buying or borrowing a guidebook. If you can read French then try the Guide Routard series, otherwise there's always the Rough Guide or the Lonely Planet guides. Alternatively a little time on the tourist information sites for the areas you are passing through should give you some idea of what's available.

Michelin maps are also useful because they highlight scenic routes - if you don't have access to the paper maps you could always go to the viamichelin.com site.

The recommendation for the 'plus beaux villages' is a good one: here's the official site as well:

http://www.les-plus-beaux-villages-de-france.org/en
  • mz__jo
    mz__jo Posts: 398