Lyrik RC2L vs 36 Talas R

DTW
DTW Posts: 82
edited January 2012 in MTB buying advice
Has anyone got experience using both these forks? I have ordered the 2012 Lyrik from Evans cycles because i'm a fan of Rock Shox and there seems to be much more control with the Lyrik plus it is coil sprung. While I have the chance to return the fork and get the Fox I would rather try and get a few opinions from people who have good knowledge.

I have no experience with Fox though and I seem to read mixed reviews about them, more maintenance etc but they do seem to hold their resell value more and they are a bit lighter due to the air sprung damping.

Does anyone have any input as to how the two differ from each other performance wise? I ride a Scott Voltage FR20 and I do everything on it; uphill; downhill; BMX track and anything else I feel like.

Thanks guys.
If it aint broke, dont fix it. Wait, there's 1 exception...unless it can be pimped up in anyway.

Comments

• Pudseyp
    Pudseyp Posts: 3,514
    Both have pro's and cons such as a coil will be heavier and have less adjustment but are easier to service...air lighter and more adjustabilty.....

People love RS and people love Fox...so you will get mixed opinions....depends on you budget but also look at the top end Marzocchi and DT Swiss.
    Tomac Synper 140 Giant XTC Alliance 1
    If the world was flat, I wouldn't be riding !
  • supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    Fox R forks are pretty dire, usually have poor and unadjustable compression damping - the Lyrik here is far better.
  • benpinnick
    benpinnick Posts: 4,148
    :) Im going to get you an 'I [heart] Rock Shox' t-shirt made. The Fox Rs aren't dire at all, they are a very good fork with perfectly capable compression damping, although it can only be changed through oil weights. That said, I would probably still get the Lyric, especially over a Talas, which adds pointless complexity to the fork IMHO.
    A Flock of Birds
    + some other bikes.