Cube or Bianchi

thegodplato
thegodplato Posts: 319
edited January 2012 in Road buying advice
Almost bought the Cube Attempt Triple from Formby Cycles but it had been sold when I phoned them. So now considering the Cube Peleton Triple or Pro. Really like the Bianchi Via Nirone's as well but as I'm new to this road biking thing confused with all the different groupsets that are available especially when there are people liking all of them and people that wouldn't touch certain ones. What are the real differences between the Shimano 2300, Sora Tiagra, Campag Xenon and Veloce? Would I as a newby really notice the difference?
Also, sizing seems to be a strange thing. I'm 5`10" witha 32" leg so on the Bianchi sizing chart I'd be looking at the 57cm sizes yet I've seen people saying they have a 53 and are the same size as me.
Bloody sales are driving me mad as I see something that I like but its not in my size!
2012 Bianchi Via Nirone Xenon

960 miles in 8 days starting 6th April 2013
www.justgiving.com/teams/cyclemadness

cyclemadness.blogspot.co.uk

Comments

• TMR
    TMR Posts: 3,986
    The correct answer to this is to buy the one which fits you best.

Don't make the mistake that so many of us have in the past of buying a bike which has amazing reviews and which you really like the look of, only to find it gives you dreadful back ache after 30 mins because the head tube is too low and the top tube too long!

I urge you to go for a proper bike fit first, to determine what geometry will suit you best based upon your flexibility. Then, before you part with a penny, take as many suitable bikes for a test ride as you can. If a store refuses a test ride then walk away.

Buy nothing until you're 100% certain it's right for you.

Good luck :)
  • Thanks for the reply. I was really meaning about the difference in gears and whether there is a real difference.

• TMR
    I see.