Cycling or divorce

patbriggsmbr
patbriggsmbr Posts: 43
edited December 2011 in The bottom bracket
I've been cycling now for 30+ years and I've been married for 21 of those years (I'm 46 now) and my partner has hated me cycling since she has known me. To be honest im bike mad, I go out whenever I can, I just love everything about it. My wife however hates it with a passion! Over the last 5 + years her attitude towards me cycling has now got to a state where she has now given me an ultimatum which is cycling or her.
I do go out walking with her and go shopping etc but she's hates me cycling and says I'm sad and boring!
I personally think its her who's sad and boring as all she likes to do is either sleep or shop online.
Has anyone out there had the same problem and what did you choose?

Comments

• MattC59
    MattC59 Posts: 5,408
    Depends on your relationship.

Imagine your life with out cycling, how would it be ?
    It sounds to me like she's using the cycling as an excuse for an ultimatum.

That said, I am in no way qualified in psychology, or marriage councelling, so it's probably best to ignore everythign I say.
    Science adjusts it’s beliefs based on what’s observed.
    Faith is the denial of observation so that Belief can be preserved
  • rozzer32
    rozzer32 Posts: 3,823
    Surely she should see it as your hobby and let you enjoy it. Obviously if you're spending thousands on bikes and you can't afford it or she gets nothing then it could be a little unfair.

Also as long as you're spending time with her and not just all your time cycling I can't understand her problem. Getting a balance is critical. And you will have to sacrifice some riding time for family time.

But if you do get divorced then make sure only your bikes are in your name, then when she has to have half your stuff she can have half your bikes. That will please her no end and also give you an excuse to buy new bikes. Win win :D