Wheel problems - how tight should the axle bolts be?

pizzaboyEdinburgh
pizzaboyEdinburgh Posts: 52
edited December 2011 in The workshop
I noticed that my rear wheel was a bit buckled and after a closer look I found there was a broken spoke.I reckoned "dead easy... it's only a spoke... can't be that tricky".

I went to my local bike shop yesterday and bought a couple of new spokes. the bloke there gave me some advice as I've never tried to fix a spoke before.

Went home to fit it then found the broken spoke was on the side as the gears... my plans were scuppered. I looked in a book and saw how to remove the cassette... so went to Halfords today and bought a chain whip and cassette removal tool.

so I took the wheel off. unwound the quick release skewer thingy and removed the metal axle that goes through the wheel using a spanner. After a bit of a fight and a double-check on youtube I finally got the cassette off. I fitted the new spoke(surpisingly simple).

I then tried to put it all back together... put the axle thing through and made the bolts really tight. put the quick release skewer back on. everything looked great. the cassette spun nicely.... I was king of the world!

I put the wheel on the bike, closed the fast release mechanism... and the wheel wouldn't turn.

What had I done wrong? Not sure but the wheel seemed bound to the axle bolts. So I took the wheel off, loosened the axle bolts a little, put them back on and the wheel turned fine.

So after all this, my question is... should the two axle bolts be tight? How should I determine how tight they should be?

Comments

• They're not 'axle-bolts', they're your cone lock-nuts.

Torqued against the cones they should be tight, best advice is make sure your drive side it f.tight, so that adjustment is pre-load adjustment is done on the non-drive side.

http://www.sheldonbrown.com/cone-adjustment.html
    FCN16 - 1970 BSA Wayfarer

FCN4 - Fixie Inc
  • MichaelW
    MichaelW Posts: 2,164