New seat tube - which frame builder to do it

photoleary
photoleary Posts: 48
edited December 2011 in Road general
I have a late 1970s, early 1980s Peugeot track frame that I have been using for about five years. The frame is in great nick but it came with a seat tube size of somewhere between 23-25mm. Luckily when I salvaged the frame I kept the seat post but the seat post is now getting very 'tired'. I was thinking of having a new seat tube putting on and was thinking of sending it to Mercian. They are saying it will be 6-8 weeks though. Any other suggestions of frame makers that would be good to use?

Also, any reasons to why I would not be able to get the seat tube replaced?

Thanks.

Comments

• I don't understand why you want the seat tube replaced... it's a hell of a lot of work and includes respray... a lot of money... how much tehy quoted?
    You should be able to find the seatpost of the appropriate size (23-25 is a bit vague, I warn you there are 5 different sizes just between 26.2-27.2 mm) and if you get one which is a couple of tenth of mm too wide, just sand it down to the appropriate size and polish it... most period seatposts were overengineered and can stand a couple of tenth of mm removed
    left the forum March 2023
  • I wanted it replaced because the size of seat post was a weird sizing that was only used by Peugeot at the time. There are quite a few threads on the Internet with people having the same problem and I have looked high and lo for the size and I just can't get anything. It was something like a 24.2 (I have had it measured before and have it written down somewhere.)
    I'm able to respray the frame myself (I have the facillities and have done dozens before) so it just the replacement of the seat tube.
  • 25mm is reasonably easy to get hold of from some of the UK seatpost manufacturers such as USE.