Changing rear cassettes

SV Gary
SV Gary Posts: 21
edited March 2012 in Road beginners
Hi There

I am pretty new to cycling and have a 2010 Specialized Secteur Elite with a 10 speed Shimano Tiagra 12-27t rear cassette. I am looking to do some hill climbs and really want to get some lower gears. So the question is can I replace my Shimano Tiagra 12-27t with a Shimano Tiagra 12-30t - are they direct replacements? Will I need to do anything with the de-railleur?

Any advice welcome.

Comments

• keef66
    keef66 Posts: 13,123
    I think your rear mech has a max capacity of 28T in theory, although you might be lucky and get it to work with 30T.
  • styxd
    styxd Posts: 3,234
    Your bike has a triple chainset. If you cant climb hills with a 30/27 then your fucking useless!
  • John.T
    John.T Posts: 3,698
    If your rear mech is the current RD4600 model then it will take the 30 sprocket. You may need a longer chain though.
  • Keef66/John T- My rear de-railleur is not the RD4600 and hence i think I am limited to 28T and will therefore need to upgrade the derailleur - thanks for the advice

Styxd - I am cycling to keep fit and not to race, the hill I am looking to do is the 25% Mow Cop as part of the Cheshire Cat sportive next March and at 100+kgs I am going to find that a challenge! - thanks for the helpful comments - you know how to make a newbie to Bikeradar welcome!
  • keef66
    So what RD do you have??
  • Shimano 105
  • styxd
    you know how to make a newbie to Bikeradar welcome!

I try my best! :lol:

But you've got till next March, thats 4 months to lose 20kg or so. That would be a better option than a new mech and cassette, and it'll cost you nowt.
  • 10kg is the plan!
  • MattC59
    MattC59 Posts: 5,408
    SV Gary wrote:
    Styxd - thanks for the helpful comments - you know how to make a newbie to Bikeradar welcome!