Normal chainrings on Compact?

bobgfish
bobgfish Posts: 545
edited November 2011 in Road buying advice
Hello
I currentry use a triple 30-39-50 and I'm thinking about currently getting a compact. I will probably need a compact as I'm going to the alps a few times this year. However In the Netherlands it is most certainly not needed being very flat. I'm very attached to my 39 middle ring and I was wondering if anyone makes a 39 tooth chainring that will fit on a compact chainset? My other option is having two chainsets but far simpler to just swap a chainring.

Thanks

Comments

• teulk
    teulk Posts: 557
    Why do you need a compact when you already have a triple ? A compact would be 50/34. Im no expert and im sure someone will correct me but i dont think you would be gaining anything by swapping to a compact. If its more gears your after for the climbs in the Alps then i think the tripple is slightly better...............like i said im no expert.
    Boardman Team 09 HT
    Orbea Aqua TTG CT 2010
    Specialized Secteur Elite 2011
  • ajb72
    ajb72 Posts: 1,178
    It does seem like an unnecessary swap if you like current set up. A 39 chainring would be more commonly found on a standard 52/39 chainset. To put a 39 ring on a compact chainset, if it were possible, would give you a tiny spread of gears as 50/39 setup.

If you are off to the Alps, you may even wish you'd had that granny ring fitted!
  • APIII
    APIII Posts: 2,010
    I have an FSA compact chainset with 50/34 and 53/39 chainrings.
  • infopete
    infopete Posts: 878
    You don't need to change your rings you need another bike :)
    Oh and please remember to click on my blog:

http://americanbicyclegroup.wordpress.com

The more clicks I get the higher it creeps up the google radar :)
  • inseine
    inseine Posts: 5,786
    I think that Stronglight do standard rings for compact chainsets.
  • proto
    proto Posts: 1,483
    inseine wrote: