Fitting sealed gear cables

Bannelio
Bannelio Posts: 12
edited November 2011 in MTB workshop & tech
Can anyone tell me if it's possible to fit a good ridge cable kit as a sealed unit from shifter to derailer as I have read that a few people have done it and it lasts a bit longer done this way. Is it possible and how do I go about doing it as I am a newbie to MTB.

Comments

• benpinnick
    benpinnick Posts: 4,148
    Its possible, although if your frame isn't set up for it you'll need to use Zip ties or hydro cable convertors (which you'll struggle to get to fit gear cables BTW) to hold the cables instead. Consider perhaps a like Gore or similar (others are cheaper like these http://www.tweekscycles.com/Product.do?method=view&n=3498&p=98144&utm_source=Google&utm_medium=Base&utm_campaign=Gear%20Cables). This has an inner sheath which is constant from shifter to mech, but the outers still split into the necessary parts to fit the frame cable guides.
    A Flock of Birds
    + some other bikes.
  • Well I'm riding a giant reign 1 2011 and there is three cable route attachments some with cable tie slots ( I think :-/) and the ones being used for the gears at present are not but i am riding 2-3 times a week and getting pissed off changing cables and poor gear changing. So is it worth doing if I take Time doing it or is it not possible to do with out extra bits ?? Sorry I am not up to scratch with the terminology lol
  • benpinnick
    Take a picture of the routing if you would. Not familiar with the types of mounts the Reign uses. I am assuming though if its not straight through cabling right now, its because the mounts don't allow it. The zip tie ones are probably for the hydro brake cables. Same as on my Blur. Its possible that you could double these up at the front, but you'd still be stuck on the rear mech routing.
    A Flock of Birds
    + some other bikes.
  • Here is one pic and I will upload a close up later today when I'm home can I email