Opinions on Thomson masterpiece layback seatpost

neeb
neeb Posts: 4,467
edited November 2011 in Road buying advice
I know it's a great product and I like a firm seatpost, but does the bend for the layback look daft on a carbon bike? I don't see many of them. I'm undecided myself.

This would be for a frame with a very slightly sloping TT and the bend would be about a quarter or a third of the way between the top of the seat tube and the saddle.

Comments

• On my SL Pro Carbon I have a Thomson Masterpiece layback with a Specialized Toupe on top.

Is it light? Yes (170gm with titanium bolts).
    Is it comfy? Yes (I like a laidback riding position).
    Is it daft looking? I couldn't give a monkeys. It does what I want it to do when riding the bike and that's the most important thing. For TTing I swap it out for a straight post with another saddle for a more forward position.
  • napoleond
    napoleond Posts: 5,992
    No. It doesn't look daft at all.

WeenieLook.jpg

IMO of course...

It also looked pretty smart on my old Ti bike...

LitespeedZipps.jpg

It now does the business on my MTB...
    Insta: ATEnduranceCoaching
    ABCC Cycling Coach
  • philhul
    philhul Posts: 140
    Depends on how much you would have showing...

CIMG1873.jpg

I'll stress that that was before I'd done any set up on the bike for my fit and I did end up with more post showing, but it still looked bad enough to make me buy a different post. Looks great on Nap's bikes though.

ps mine was only an elite not masterpiece but they look the same!
  • neeb
    Yup, looks great other than on that Stealth where it's all of the way down.. I like the Look! (of the Look I mean). I just couldn't find many examples of road bikes with these things fitted so was beginning to worry.