Folding Hybrid Bikes

hambo
hambo Posts: 49
edited November 2011 in Commuting general
Hi All

First post so hope this is in the right forum. I'm a complete novice to biking and last time I rode a bike regularly was about 20 years ago on a Grifter if anyone remembers that and then a short stint on a mountain bike which weighed a ton and was really hard work to ride. Read through the beginners sticky which was really useful.

The thing is I need a folding bike that will fit into the boot of a VW Golf that I will then use to commute between different venues that I work at so in all 8 mile daily journeys (four miles to and from).

Looking at hybrid because of it's upright position. Only bike manufacturer I can find of hyrbid folding bikes is "Montague". Are there any others?

Tried to do a search on this forum but can't find anything. Tried riding a brompton bike the other week and it didn't inspire me with great confidence (although I know it has a somewhat loyal fan base). So just after bikes to research. Currenly only one I can find that would be suitable due to the pannier rack, folding and hyrid is the one below:

www.montaguefoldingbike.co.uk/uk/2011_f ... /navigator

So any suggestions gratefully appreciated.

Comments

• t4tomo
    t4tomo Posts: 2,643
    if you want a full size folder as opposed to a Brompton type - see also Dahon and Arnimal who both do some bigger wheel stuff - 24" and 26". Never come across Montague before. the fact that it has 700cc wheels probably makes it a bit unique , but no significant differance over 26" equipped with the right tyres
    Bianchi Infinito CV
    Bianchi Via Nirone 7 Ultegra
    Brompton S Type
    Carrera Vengeance Ultimate Ltd
    Gary Fisher Aquila '98
    Front half of a Viking Saratoga Tandem
  • MichaelW
    MichaelW Posts: 2,164
    Dahon Cadenza is a good foldable full-sized bike. 26" wheels are fine and the size is OK for storing in a car boot.