Which carbon hardtail? Decisions! Decisions!

pingu66
pingu66 Posts: 29
edited November 2011 in MTB buying advice
I have been riding on and off for a few years now and really started to get back in to it. Anyway the lovely girlfreind suggested I get a new bike, currently running a Kona Dawg Delux 2008, slow bouncer. The conversation included her mentioning carbon so I guess I am really lucky!

Im a bigger guy and looking to loose 20lbs to get down to around 200lbs (14.5st) 6ft and 45 years young!

Anyway I think I have narrowed it down to the following.

Specialized Stumpjumper Expert Carbon 29
Like Formula brakes and SID fork, 2x10 rather than 3x10 (double rather thab triple front chain ring, apologies I am not realy up on the components yet)
May swap front derailieur and shifters. Wheels and tyres OK for now.

Whyte 29er CS
Dont like Avid brakes heard they are not great!

XtC Composite 29'er 0
Not looke at the Fox forks enough so not sure?

Scott Scale 29 Pro
Dont like SRAM and Shimano mixed derailieurs?
Read bad things about the frame?
Avid brakes

Trek Superfly Elite??
XT all round sounds good!

Personally I am leaning heavily to the Specialized!

Major issues are I cannot seem to find any to test

What about longer cranks 175mm as I am 6ft and 180mm front disc as I am not that small and light? Also want to add braided steel brake cables?

Budget is not a huge issue but I have to be sensible si I have set a limit of £3k, as a I saw a niner for £3k but would swap most of the components! Harsh I know. What I am really after is a quick agile light hardtail that wont kill my back! Been riding full susser for a few years now so a little worried that it will get sore till I get used to it, Will mainly be doing 20-40 mile 2-3 hour rides wherever it takes me and for fitness.

Anyway I was in the LBS and nearly went completely off radar as some of the full sussers look really mean! Maybe the loved one will let me swap my Kona next year?