What CX tyres for a beginner?

macondo01
macondo01 Posts: 706
edited November 2011 in Amateur race
Had my first CX race last weekend at Northwich. I used Schwalbe pro road cx tyres 30c at about 80psi.

I guess tyre pressures and tyres might vary for the course but ballpark are these generally the right tyres and at the right pressures for cx racing? I am 65kg if that makes any difference!

Thanks
"Let not the sands of time get in your lunch"

National Lampoon

Comments

• andyp
    andyp Posts: 10,104
    80 psi? :shock:

You need as much grip as you can get so generally the lower the pressure the better. Clearly with clinchers the lowest pressure you can run is limited, but I often race with 35-38 psi in my clinchers (lower if I'm racing with tubulars).

I've no experience of the Schwalbe tyres, but would recommend Michelin Mud 2 tyres as a good all rounder.
  • Ah, so 80psi is about twice the pressure I should be riding on! Ha ha! Oh well may be next time I do a race I can look forward to feeling the difference.

Thanks for the tyre tip too!

National Lampoon
  • VamP
    VamP Posts: 674
    Macondo01 wrote:
    Ah, so 80psi is about twice the pressure I should be riding on! Ha ha! Oh well may be next time I do a race I can look forward to feeling the difference.

Thanks for the tyre tip too!

The CX Pro (not road) is a good all-rounder, if a little narrow. I have these on my spare bike. I would say to stick with them until you have had sufficient exposure to racing to decide where you want to go with gear.

For CX tubulars are king, but not everyone wants to spend the requisite, especially bearing in mind that you might want three different tyre types to cover diverse conditions, and back up wheelsets to cover puncture eventualities.