Upgrades for my Cannondale Hardtail?

JonoStevens
JonoStevens Posts: 45
edited September 2011 in MTB buying advice
Hello all,

New to the forum; this one looks friendlier than the others. :)

I’ve been riding off road for a year on a 2010 Cannondale SL3 hardtail. I have loved the bike, but after trying a rather fancy full susser I’ve been saving for one to replace my hardtail.

However, real life has got in the way, and with a house move and little ‘uns on the horizon, I’ll need the money for other stuff.

New plan is a budget Boardman Team FS on bike2work. Seem to have good reviews, and after being a bit more realistic about my requirements, will be more than adequate.

Good news is I can keep the Cannondale, which was being sold to go towards a full susser.

I do still love my SL, and have always wanted a ‘work in progress’ bike to tinker with and learn maintenance on in my own time, with an eye on fulfilling a long-held dream of building a bike.

I want to upgrade the bike as I’ve got the cash and I spot bargains on ebay but was hoping to get some thoughts and recommendations?

From research, forks, wheels and brakes seem good place to start?

The Cannondale has a 1.5” steerer. Will that make things awkward? I’m guessing a fork set up for a 1 1/8 steerer won’t work or fit properly? Excuse the stupid question, but I am rather practically challenged.

Spec for SL is here if anyone is unfamiliar: http://www.evanscycles.com/products/can ... e-ec020206

Thanks a lot.

Jono.

Comments

• supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    There is nothing I would upgrade - not until the parts have worn out.
  • Si1988
    Si1988 Posts: 158
    I'd have to agree with SS on this. Replace when worn out. Unless, of course, something is causing problems or you actively dislike any part of the bike.