Which cube to buy for up to £1000

kammybear
kammybear Posts: 500
edited September 2011 in MTB buying advice
I'm not happy with my Specialized Hardrock Disc, I have no confidence in it and it slips and slides all over the place on the red routes at Cannock Chase. I know I'm a beginner but know I can blame my bike as I swapped bikes with my gf and she had the same problems while I sailed it on her GT Avvy 2.0.

I've been told its because of the shit Suntour fork and shitty mechanical brakes. I need a new beast for next year on C2W but towards £1000 I can't see much difference between the ones around 700-1000.

For red routes and maybe one day black, is it worth going for an LTD or maybe an Acid/Attention?

I don't want to make the same mistake again!

Comments

• Briggo
    Briggo Posts: 3,537
    Polished rock at Cannock can make things interesting, perhaps its your tyres fitted?

Does the bike slip and slide elsewhere?
  • Slipping & sliding sounds like tyres/tyre pressure. I was having the same problem over here

Gotta pressure gauge and started playing around with different tyre pressures which helped a bit and then got some different tyres - feels like a new bike now!

gravel/stoney corners where I would completely wash out I can now take much faster and when I do over do it things just get a little twitchy at the back rather than what was happening before which was my front tyre completely losing traction
    "Why have that extra tooth if you're not using it?" - Brian Lopes

Votec V.SX Enduro 'Alpine Thug' 2012/2013 build

Trek Session 8
  • omegas
    omegas Posts: 970
    try playing around with tyre pressures, change your tyres , work on technique . The bike you have will eat up the trails you are riding :lol:
  • I'm going for the "all the gear, no idea" angle.

Girlfriend is a bad influenced and forced me down the shops. Tomorrow I'll have a 2012 black and red A Team style Cube Attention!

The hardrock is off to ebay!