Canyon Nerve (1500) or a used bike (700) for beginner ??

vim147
vim147 Posts: 120
edited September 2011 in MTB buying advice
I need help in deciding if i should spend 1500 on a canyon nerve xc/am or buy a used bike for half that amount as i am a beginner.

I haven't owned a bike in 20 yrs so my riding has just been excursion trips when on holiday, mainly riding around in a hard tail.

i like riding around for the scenery mainly and not so much of the thrill of jumping 5ft in the air etc.

there don't seem to be any second hand canyon bikes going so was thinking of,

specialized fsr
giant anthem/trance
trek fuel ex8

would 120mm travel be enough ?

Also would like to take the bike to swiss alps and austria. not looking to climb/jump over big rocks but using single tracks there on the tourist trail.

I've got until next summer to get a bike. Under 13kg would be nice.

Comments

• supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    How mechanically competant are you? Used bikes can need some work, plus you have no warranty.

Why not a new £700 bike? You don't NEED full suspension.
  • supersonic wrote:
    How mechanically competant are you? Used bikes can need some work, plus you have no warranty.

+1

Also Canyon are sold out for 2011 stock I believe.
    '11 Cannondale Trail SL3
  • vim147
    supersonic wrote:

Ive considered a hard tail but i dont want to buy a bike then find i want more out if it. Rather get it right the 1st time.
  • supersonic
    Hmmm, but full suss doesn't always give you 'more'. Well apart from weight, pedal kickback and bobbing ;-)

I think you need to test a few bikes to get a feel.
  • well I've got a Canyon XC7 and it's loads more fun to ride than my old giant XTC hard tail and it's got hardly any pedal bob and when locked out climbs way better than my old HT on or off road
    2011 Canyon Nerve XC7 viewtopic.php?t=12765275
  • supersonic
    Which is why testing is a good idea ;-)
  • vim147
    supersonic wrote: