Recession

rick_chasey
rick_chasey Posts: 72,243
edited September 2011 in The bottom bracket
Usually we only hear about being in recession a month or two after it happens.

"The UK economy shrunk 0.2% over the past month, meaning it is in recession".

I like to guess what the growth figures will be by spuriously speculating on the basis of the mood of people at work, and the mood of the people I know about their work.

Anyone think the economy is in recession right now?

I know I do. My clients, clients of friends, they're all stalling about giving work. I've been hearing of redundancies for pretty good people (outside of the City).

So, I recon it's shrunk by nearer 0.5%.

Comments

• I work in the leisure industry and over the past 9 months I've watched our business decline. People are afraid to spend their money on things they don't really need! It won't be long now before before we are finished.

It's quite depressing, especially being the wrong side of 50 and realising that you are going to be lucky to find another job.

So yes, we are still in a recession. and we haven't seen the worst yet.
  • rick_chasey
    Still?

I thought the UK has been growing, albeit anaemically for the past 12 months?
  • Cressers
    Cressers Posts: 1,329
    The economy didn't recover from the Crash.

Now Cable is trying to lower expectations and prepare public opinion for the worst in the hope of minimising the inevitable panic that will come...
  • TheStone
    TheStone Posts: 2,291
    The economy's still a car crash and can't see it getting better until it collapses further.