Claud Butler good place to start for a total road bike noob?

scagden
scagden Posts: 7
edited September 2011 in Road beginners
Hi there. I'm 33 and have been riding mountain bikes since I was tiny. This year in my long summer holiday (I'm a teacher!) I've been doing 30/40 miles a day on my mountain bike and I'm starting to think as I'm almost entirely riding on roads I should bite the bullet and get one of those thin-tyre-drop-bar efforts.

But I know almost nothing.

I guess from a cursory view on here that the couple of Claud Butlers going for £300+ are probably the best place to start for a newbie without any bank robbery cash, does anyone have any experience with these or any better ideas?

Any other advice for a complete beginner?

(I'm a bit anxious about the clip pedal thingies)

Comments

• unixnerd
    unixnerd Posts: 2,864
    They're not bad, maybe a bit heavier than dearer brands. It's worth paying slightly more to get one from a proper local bike shop (LBS) as that way you'll get the correct frame size and they'll get the right saddle setup to suit you.

A good first road bike would be a Specialized Allez or a Cannondale CAAD8. If you use Google's Shopping function you can find them from under 500.
    (I'm a bit anxious about the clip pedal thingies)

Start with normal pedals but get some shoes that take SPD cleats. Proper solid soled cycling shoes make a big difference and can be used with flat pedals. Once your used to the bike you can put on SPD pedals such as Shimano M520s. With SPD shoes you can still walk around, you can't in full blown road shoes and cleats.
    http://www.strathspey.co.uk - Quality Binoculars at a Sensible Price.
    Specialized Roubaix SL3 Expert 2012, Cannondale CAAD5,
    Marin Mount Vision (1997), Edinburgh Country tourer, 3 cats!
  • scagden
    It's nice to be able to go into the bike shop with at least an idea where to start!
  • Keith1983
    Keith1983 Posts: 575