im i getting it all wrong

radiation man
radiation man Posts: 446
edited August 2011 in Road beginners
ive been cycling since oct 2007 and each year done more miles, last year i did 3200 oct to sept this year ive done 2800 so i wont beat last yrs target in the next 4 weeks. i also do about 4 sportives a year and my fastest times are as follows
60mls- 4.25
54mls- 3.59
45mls- 3.27
35mls- 2.12
each year i try to beat my times but it now seems to be taking the fun out of them, should i just take my time in future,
how many miles a week do i need to do to keep my fitness up, im now 50 and i use to cycle to work about twice a week 6 miles each way and usually a 50 miles ride at weekend, now ive been cycling to work 5 days a week and find it very tiring could i be doing to much i weigh 74 kilos

Comments

• balthazar
    balthazar Posts: 1,565
    I'm not quite clear what you're asking, however I think maybe nor are you: but you're obviously a bit dissatisfied with your cycling.

For me, my interest in the statistics of my bike rides has dwindled to zero: I've never been much keen on competition and my racing times were brief and long gone, lost to my adolescence, when I believed that cycling must be a "sport" and not simply an activity (or transport). It has taken me years to unlearn that lie.

I now ride for sheer joy, and to actually see and explore the places it takes me: it is efficient transport, after all. I'll stop and explore where I used to continue pounding the road, afraid of losing impetus; I have a perverse keenness for off-road deviations which infuriate my friends with their pristine bikes; but I still love to feel in shape, light and quick, as I ever did. I enjoy my bike rides more than ever, since I lost the numbers and the aspirations, yet I don't go any slower.