Always a riding god or are you sometimes a bit rubbish?

paulbox
paulbox Posts: 1,203
edited September 2011 in MTB general
I've never been a brilliant rider, but I'm alright... :? I'm not the fastest, but I can ride the red run at Aston etc.

Went to Cannock for the first time last weekend and I felt like a complete novice. It started badly in the cafe when I missed the bin from 3" with my muffin wrapper... And went down hill from there.

Came off very early on, caught my left hand bar on a tree and went down heavily on my right knee. Was wearing pads, but still hurt a lot... :oops:

I then came off a boardwalk for no reason. I managed to stay upright, but it was still very poor riding and could have dowm some serious damage to the berries.

Had to put my foot down on a couple of switch-backs (climbing), shouldn't have been a problem at all, I think this was mainly due to the person in front going too slow for me.

Then I came off again at the bottom of one of the descents. Took a left a bit tight and the surface was very loose, so took the next right wider but over did it, hit a tree stump on the outside and was sent sprawling, hitting right knee again and badly bruising ribs.

Due to injuries I've not been able to just get back on the horse, so I now feel like I'm going to be rubbish every time I go out. Do others of you have bad days?
XC: Giant Anthem X
Fun: Yeti SB66
Road: Litespeed C1, Cannondale Supersix Evo, Cervelo R5
Trainer: Bianchi via Nirone
Hack: GT hardtail with Schwalbe City Jets

Comments

• Mojo_666
    Mojo_666 Posts: 860
    PaulBox wrote:
    . It started badly in the cafe when I missed the bin from 3" with my muffin wrapper... And went down hill from there.

:lol:

I have bad days and worse days. :/
  • clamps81
    clamps81 Posts: 315
    Frankly, I'm doing well if I get round without injuring myself or scaring myself stupid. I thought that was sort of the point though?
    Nukeproof Mega AM

Tomac Snyper - Now sadly in pieces
  • 1mancity2