i need help choosing the right forks for my carrera virtuoso

coman1985
coman1985 Posts: 46
edited August 2011 in Road beginners
Hi there i am new to cycling and am loving it i have a carrera virtuoso 2011 and i want to ride for a year or so and move over to a full carbon frame and start building my own bike.(i have no idea why but ide rather do it than buying one) anyway what i want to do is buy a few bits to add to this bike and then move them over to what i am going to build the 3 things i want to change are pedals wheels and tires coz there appauling and front forks. the problem i have is my front forks now are dead straight so i will buy a carbon fork which is dead straight so the wheel is in the same place but when i look they start talking about different things like intergrated 45mm od head and 43mm how do i know what i have and what are the key things i have to match up with so it works with my headset frame etc for example are crown rings different sizes and as long as the headset is for an 1"1/8 steerer and i buy an 1"1/8 fork will they work no matter or is there other factors to look out for??

Comments

• Some capitalization wouldn't hurt, just to make it more bearable to read.

But as far forks go, you need to match the steerer size to your frame, most likely 1.1/8.
  • sorry to rabble but really appreciate the input.

i dint wanna spend money on forks and find that they wouldnt possibly fit..

i thought it would be all standard apart from the steerer but the more i read the more confusing it got with people talking about the fact that crown rings differ. New forks dont come with them fitted so i would take it off my old forks so would that fit ?
  • As before, as long as the steerer tube is the same size, they will fit. I'm not sure if road bikes have tapered headtubes ever, but in the MTB world that adds another complication.