Tyres, gatorskins?

bristolmotorspeedway
edited September 2011 in Road beginners
Hi,
I am quite new to this, so excuse the ignorance! i have a 1 month old giant escape 1 hybrid running on 700c wheels with Maxxis Colombiere 700x32 tyres. Having just had my first puncture yesterday, i am keen to upgrade the tyres to something better (as in more puncture resistant). As i understand it, wheel size is standard, so if i have 700c wheels i should be able to fit 700x28mm gatorskins. please let me know if i am missing something!
2011 Giant Escape 1
2015 Genesis Equilibrium SS

Comments

• You've got it right.
  • fuzzynavel
    fuzzynavel Posts: 718
    You are correct in your assumption and I would definitely recommend the Gatorskins as I have had a set on my bike for about a year now with no punctures whereas I was getting them almost every other week before I changed over!
    17 Stone down to 12.5 now raring to get back on the bike!
  • I like to avoid stupidly-named products. Like 'Gatorskin', 'Toupe' and 'MegaExo'. I have found the less marketing-orientated and more understated brands in cycling to be producers of the better products.

The Schwalbe Marathon Plus is a puncture resistant tyre with a good reputation, and is available in 700x28.
  • merak
    merak Posts: 323
    :shock: We're talking Continental Gatorskins here, Continental is one of the most highly regarded brands in road tyres and Gatorskins are a highly regarded mid-price tyre from their range. The Marathon Plus is a touring tyre, more than twice the weight of the winter training Gatorskin.

To the OP: I think you're limited to wire bead in 700x28 but 700x25 is available in foldable in Gatorskins.
  • I like to avoid stupidly-named products. Like 'Gatorskin', 'Toupe' and 'MegaExo'. I have found the less marketing-orientated and more understated brands in cycling to be producers of the better products.