Sustainable/maintainable heart rate for long climbs ?

weeksy59
weeksy59 Posts: 2,606
edited August 2011 in Road beginners
Morning all,

stick with me on this one... as you can see by my post count, i'm not a bike newbie... however i'm a newbie in here... i do MTB stuff... (i know, stone the heretic).

So next year we're planning a dual trip to take in the Pass'portes du Soleil and a climb of Alp D'Huez.

Obviously being in the UK, it's tough to simulate long climbs, and also added to the fact a lot of my training is gym based using spinning machine, i really have no clue what to expect from the climb.

Based upon XC racing, trail centre riding and day to day stuff, i'd say my overall fittness is pretty decent. But what i'm curious to is Av heart rate over a climb.

Today i was simulating climbing resistance and a cadence of about 65rpm for 45 mins. My Av heart rate was 145bpm, mostly around 141bpm. Which i felt was fairly sustainable, although possibly down to 137 for something a fair bit longer. But i don't know if that's something i should be looking to maintain, or if that's a bit low or a bit high... or....

So, some toughts, ideas etc wanted please all.

Thanks
W.

Comments

• chiark
    chiark Posts: 335
    i am starting to think I am either near death, or my garmin HRM is dramatically over reading... I typically sustain over 170 for 45 minutes on my rides.

I hope the garmin is over-reading... Must try to sort that out!
    Synapse Alloy 105 / Rock Lobster Tig Team Sl
  • rick_chasey
    rick_chasey Posts: 72,221
    Cycle for flat out for 90 minutes.

See what your average heart rate is over that period.

Bingo.
  • chiark wrote:
    i am starting to think I am either near death, or my garmin HRM is dramatically over reading... I typically sustain over 170 for 45 minutes on my rides.

I hope the garmin is over-reading... Must try to sort that out!

Same here, at 150 bpm I'm in a very easy zone.
    It's weird because I'm fat and old 17st and 48