Gt Sensor 4.0 finally arrived today :) but badly scratched:(

2»

Comments

• dmorton
    dmorton Posts: 244
    supersonic wrote:
    He didn't deal with the courier, he got £80 of goods in compensation and accepted it!

He had the option of repair, replacement or refund if had been asked for, no doubt, in fact replacement was mentioned.

I know, he got a good outcome

It was more of general comment I hoped a few people would read and find helpful. You are well within your right to ask for a replacement of faulty delivered goods, and it should be at no cost to you.
  • Yep, used a bog standard pedal spanner from Halfords. I did do it up pretty tight but without using a torque wrench how am I supposed to know how tight is correct? I'm not too familiar with bike maintenance but I am pretty handy with most things, I work as a science technician so got lots of fixing stuff involved, do lots of DIY etc so I don't mind trying to fix things like this but there are plenty of folk who aren't. If I made a mess of it then there is a good chance plenty of other folk would as well especially those who are less technically minded.

It was a bike technician that suggested the faulty pedal and cited an example of it happening to one of the Cube bikes they had supplied so considering the source of the information I had no reason to question. Indeed when I had a look at the pedal that fell off and there seems to be a bit of play in it, if you hold the thread tightly and the pedal itself waggles a bit side to side, could be normal though. I would have expected it to simply come loose though rather than strip the thread if it wasn't tight enough. The other pedal is still solid though and I tightened that to the same amount as the other.

Either way when the new crank arrives the old pedals won't go back on, so any suggestions as to decent/value for money pedals would be appreciated.