Saddle sore - Will it improve?

Xommul
Xommul Posts: 251
edited January 2012 in Road buying advice
Hi folks,

Question!

I am new to my road bike, the saddle after about 2 hours starts to really become painful, i use padded bib shorts and ive only been on my bike for a few weeks, 150 miles in total.

Will the soreness reduce over time or should i be looking at a softer saddle (current one is fizik anteres) or are there extra padded bib shorts i can wear while my arse is broken in ;-)

Xom
MTB Trek 4300 Disc 1999
Road Rose Carbon Pro RS Custom
Canyon Spectral AL 7.9 29er

Comments

• Paul E
    Paul E Posts: 2,052
    Sudocreme helps reduces the soreness. a softer saddle won't help as you will probably move about more rubbing you even more
  • BBH
    BBH Posts: 476
    How long have u been riding for?? If its a few weeks, think you need to break it in a bit more.

Regarding saddles, softer is not better and can (over rides of an hr) make things more painful. Really for me, the harder the better (within reason!!). You need to find a saddle that fits/suits you and your sit bones and that is like finding the holy grail of cycling!!!

The only thing you can do for now is to make sure you have a good pair of shorts with a good pad, try using chamois cream around your sit bones (I use sudocrem, cheap and does the job), make sure your commando under the shorts too!!

If its still really bad after a few weeks, start the search!!!!!!
    Some starting points would inlcude: spesh toupe, fizik arione, selle italia flite, charge spoon, charge knife, etc....... Many of the above can be got from the classifieds on here (in saddle swap section) or ebay quite cheaply. Some lbs's will allow you to trial saddles too.

Good luck and hope you find your perfect perch' :wink::wink:
    2012 Scott Foil 10 (Shimano dura ace) - in progress
    2011 Cervelo S2 (SRAM Red/Force)
    2011 Cannondale Caad 10 (Shimano 105)

"Hills Hurt, Couches Kill!!"
    Twitter: @MadRoadie
  • Paul E