Training Progamme For 100 mile Sportive

llen
llen Posts: 65
edited August 2011 in Training, fitness and health
Hello All

This is my very first post on this forum and I'm also pretty new to cycling and I'm looking for some advice on training.

Essentially I got into duathlons and triathlons this year but absolutely got hooked on the cycling element and so would like to focus more on that discipline going forward. I've entered the cymru etape in October and so I'm looking for a structured training plan to help me complete this.

I'm the sort of person that likes to follow a plan devised by experts and I like the structure and routine. I've not been able to find anything online and would appreciate your help.

I've got a turbo and have enlisted in a track course at the Newport velodrome and so a plan that incorporates those elements as well would be ideal.

Many thanks in advance for all your help.

Llen

Comments

• Bronzie
    Bronzie Posts: 4,927
    You'd be best off getting a qualified coach to draw you up a plan, even if it's a one-off 3-month plan. Will probably cost you about £100.
  • ianlash
    ianlash Posts: 147
    Try the one on the website you are looking at:-

http://www.bikeradar.com/feature/article/training-take-on-the-cycling-plus-sportive-at-bikeradar-live-25833

I used it for the Bikeradar 107 mile sportive last year - worked for me.
  • Herbsman
    Herbsman Posts: 2,029
    Bronzie wrote:
    You'd be best off getting a qualified coach to draw you up a plan, even if it's a one-off 3-month plan. Will probably cost you about £100.
    £100 for a training plan to ride a sportive? Are you insane?
    CAPTAIN BUCKFAST'S CYCLING TIPS - GUARANTEED TO WORK! 1 OUT OF 10 RACING CYCLISTS AGREE!
  • Bronzie
    Herbsman wrote:
    Bronzie wrote:
    I'm not, but the OP wants a plan and the only people that post on here that are qualified to give him one will want paying for their services.