We're All Doing Our Commuting Wrong!

shm_uk
shm_uk Posts: 683
edited July 2011 in Commuting chat
From the Guardian Bike Blog, discussion on commuting;

"I've been cycling to school/university/work for the last 50 years. It so happens that I sent Evans Cycles a comment on their ridiculous advert for the Ride To Work scheme a couple of weeks ago: the advert features a bike that does not have fixed lights, does not have reflective tyres, doesn't have mudguards or chainguard and doesn't have a pannier. The cyclist is carrying a rucksack which makes falling more likely; the main risk is back injury (even more so if the rucksack contains a laptop or other hard objects) which the helmet and fancy gear she is wearing will not protect against. (I haven't had a reply!)"

:shock:

Twit

Comments

• pangolin
    pangolin Posts: 6,279
    Haha! To be fair, my commuter has mudguards and a saddlebag. However I am seriously lacking in the chainguard / pannier / fixed lights / reflective wheels department.

Bet Evans had a good laugh reading that comment.

*runs off to stick reflectives to tyres
    - Genesis Croix de Fer
    - Dolan Tuono
  • prawny
    prawny Posts: 5,439
    I'd love to have all that on my commuter. I'd also like to have a shorter commute and live somewhere flat and have space for a specific commuting bike.

What he says kind of makes sense, in a ideal world. But not for me.
    Saracen Tenet 3 - 2015 - Dead - Replaced with a Hack Frame
    Voodoo Bizango - 2014 - Dead - Hit by a car
    Vitus Sentier VRS - 2017
  • notsoblue
    notsoblue Posts: 5,756
    Rucksack makes falling more likely? Reflective tyres?!
  • asprilla
    asprilla Posts: 8,440
    My winter commuter has all the things he mentions.

I rock.
    Mud - Genesis Vapour CCX
    Race - Fuji Norcom Straight
    Sun - Cervelo R3
    Winter / Commute - Dolan ADX
  • pitchshifter
    pitchshifter Posts: 1,476
    shm_uk wrote:
    The cyclist is carrying a rucksack which makes falling more likely