Power meters - is 1 enough?

strangesteve
strangesteve Posts: 6
Sorry for the provocative thread title
I kind of know the answer but would appreciate some feedback from users

I dont think I 'need' a power meter but I do have a curiosity

My background is of an enthusiastic sportive and leisure rider who is considering taking up racing and/or time trialling for a bit of fun and to push myself a bit further

The difficulty Im having is that I dont see where the power meter fits into my own cycling life

Even the
bargain power2max comes in at enough money to make me flinch

But my difficulty is that as far as I see it the important miles are those that I do in the winter and spring on my duff bike
I have a shiny bike for sunny days which would be my best bike for races

So do you guys put the power meter on your winter hack for training?
Or put in on your race bike for efficient racing?
Or do you just have 2 of them paid for my your sponsors for each bike :)

The only current power meter that could be easily swapped is the Powertap
However if I use it in the winter on a decent build it will get trashed, and if I use the winter spec cheapo build on a race bike it will weigh a tonne

Crank systems just wont get swapped over either will they?

So what do you do in practice?

Cheers

PS for the serious stuff Ive just bought the training with a power meter bible for my summer holls reading

Comments

• amaferanga
    amaferanga Posts: 6,789
    I have a Powertap. Through the spring, summer and autumn I will swap it between my race bike and training bike. Through the winter it stays on my race bike that spends its winter on the turbo. Riding outside through the winter I don't do any intervals which is where the power meter really comes into its own for training purposes - I don't quite see the need for a power meter if you're just doing steady endurance or tempo riding. A lot of my winter miles are on fixed anyway.