So Unfit!

NeilMick
NeilMick Posts: 98
I have literally just cycled only 3 miles and my legs and lungs had enough, that's what you get for not doing any exercise for 9 months due to an injury. Shame as I had got up to 70 miles before that.

Problem is I don't like going slowly and am always trying to push myself, which is probably not the best idea in terms of not doing my knee in again from too much too fast!

Anyone else been in a similar situation? I think the problem is because I'm not actually a total beginner and am used to doing more it's very hard to then go back to almost nothing again. Anyone got any tips to ease myself back into it?

Comments

• Slow Downcp
    Slow Downcp Posts: 3,041
    No easy way round it - just ease yourself back into it. I'm in a similar situation, elbow fracture before Xmas kept me off for 6 months but still hurts so can't do too much. It is a downer though losing fitness (and gaining 2 stone) so quickly.

We're off on holiday in a couple of weeks so just taking my mountain bike and going to try and do an hour or two every day just at a gentle pace, enjoying the scenery.
    Carlsberg don't make cycle clothing, but if they did it would probably still not be as good as Assos
  • NeilMick
    I guess I'll just have to, I expected my legs to hurt but wasn't expecting such a massive difference, I have only gained about 7lbs thought which I'm pretty happy about.

Guess i'll just have to try and forget about where I was before and treat it as starting from scratch. :(
  • petejuk
    petejuk Posts: 235
    Coming back from injury can be very difficult. Using a turbo trainer helped me a lot. Although boring, you can climb off whenever it starts really hurting. Also you don't get frustrated by looking at the speedo and seeing your slow speed (add to that no one overtaking you). Its also easier to gauge your progress. It is boring though.
    Good luck.
  • mididoctors
    mididoctors Posts: 16,805