Touring around france

marcandre
marcandre Posts: 43
edited July 2011 in Tour & expedition
Hi,

I am currently in the thoughts process of arranging doing a tour around france on bike approx 4-6 weeks.

I obviously have alot of questions, but the main one that springs too my mind is, as i have never done something of this stature before. i will be doing this solo, and will obviously need to carry alot of stuff. but i would prefer to do this on my roadbike, is it possible to do these things on a road bike? with gear and everything.

Im a keen road cyclist, and would like to unload my gear somedays and do l'alpe huez and other such iconic climbs, so i would prefer to be using my road bike. hope that makes sense.

any opinions and info welcomed.

many thanks.

Marc
Trek - Fast Track 470

Cannondale SuperSix

Comments

• cycladelic
    cycladelic Posts: 641
    France can include the Pyrenees and Alps - if you are thinking of riding a fully loaded bike up big cols and if the bike's gearing isn't low enough, your knees will suffer. Either that or you'll end up walking.

Do you have a route in mind?
    It's an uphill climb to the bottom
  • tatanab
    tatanab Posts: 1,283
    marcandre wrote:
    and will obviously need to carry alot of stuff.
    Why? Assuming you are not camping you can easily fit all you need in a large saddlebag (Carradice Camper's Longflap recommended) with the Carradice Bagman saddlebag support. A handlebar bag carries your paperwork, camera, snacks etc. Last year I rode 1500 miles in 3 weeks cyclecamping. My camping kit was in another bag but my saddlebag was not even full. If you are camping you might find it a challenge to fit appropriate carriers and bags to your machine.

Gearing etc - if you are going into the mountains then you will need lower gears than you use at home. It is not necessarily the gradient that gets you but the length, particularly when you are on your third pass of the day.
  • MichaelW
    MichaelW Posts: 2,164