Oh bu99er, what have I done?

swelsbyuk
swelsbyuk Posts: 421
edited July 2011 in Road beginners
I popped into Halfords yesterday to buy a micro fibre cloth for cleaning the car. However, when I left it appears I had also purchased a Boardman Road Race bike:

http://www.halfords.com/webapp/wcs/stor ... yId_165710

Not sure how or why this happened, although the fact that I turn 40 next week may have been a contributing factor!!

This is the first road bike I've owned since I was 15 (although I have been using MTBs for the past 5 years) but I don't know where to start - and Halfords' 12-year-old sale staff were of little assistance.

Please excuse by lack of knowledge on technical terms, but what are the best pedals? The bike has come with cages but am I better with clip in ones? (I use flats on the MTB).
Also, do I need a new helmet or will the MTB suffice? If I have to buy Lycra, are bib shorts better than normal shorts?

Any help welcome, and please feel free to word the replies as though you are talking to a small child who needs everything explaining in full!!

Thanks in advance.

S

Comments

• carbon337
    carbon337 Posts: 414
    You know the answers to those already.....

New helmet, Bib shorts, nice top and some new shoes + SPD's

After all its your birthday next week so why not.
  • MountainMonster
    MountainMonster Posts: 7,423
    You could pop on clipless, Shimano M520s are good starter pedals and are very affordable. They are more MTB oriented, but that's the good part!

As far as helmet, don't have to buy a new one, but it is your birthday, get the family to treat you to a whole new riding kit for the bike! Bib shorts are the way forward, since they have the straps over the shoulders, it holds the padding in place and is much more comfortable. A good cycling jersey is also in order!
  • andrewjoseph
    andrewjoseph Posts: 2,165
    Use your mtb kit on the road bike, I do. same type of pedals on each bike so I can use the same shoes.