Advice?

adampeds
adampeds Posts: 35
edited June 2011 in Road beginners
Hello!

Im really new to road biking and just been up to the local bike shop and explained to him my needs in a bike, basically to get to and from work and to get fitter, so he recommened this bike to me

http://www.raleigh.co.uk/ProductType/ProductRange/Product/Default.aspx?pc=1&pt=14&pg=7035

I love the retro style of the bike and the aesethics of the bike, but was hoping for your advice on if it will be good to me as a beginner?

Comments

• Monty Dog
    Monty Dog Posts: 20,614
    Whilst fine as a beginner's bike, you may find it lacking if you get keen and start looking to upgrade. My suggestion would be if that is your budget limit, then look at used bikes - £400 will buy you something that was mid-range 5-6 years ago.
    Make mine an Italian, with Campagnolo on the side..
  • night_porter
    night_porter Posts: 888
    If I were you I would take the advice of your local bike shop, it looks a reasonably good bike for the money and you will have the assistance of the shop with getting the right size and making simple adjustments for you.

Weight won't make a lot of difference for riding unless you are racing or constantly going up hill. Once you are up to speed the weight is irrelevent and 12kg (26lbs) isn't that heavy anyway. I carry more than 12kg in rack and luggage on my daily commute and that is without the weight of the bike I use.

Buying a 2nd hand bike is only really suitable for people who know exactly what they need (size & components) and are confident enough to rebuild the bike if required.

Similar for buying online, you really need to know enough about size/components/fit/etc. to get a real bargain. You might be lucky but then again you might waste your money.

Imho first timers need the support of local bike shops and vise versa.
  • AndyOgy
    AndyOgy Posts: 579