Looking to start racing in the South East area.

AlexJCook
AlexJCook Posts: 108
edited June 2011 in XC and Enduro
Hey guys.

New to the forum and new to proper xc riding.

I'm currently recovering from spinal surgery, but in a few months I should be perfectly fit and looking to get in to some proper races.

I'm not bad on a bike, have ridden on and off for a few years, a bit o everything on and off road. Done a few fun run road rides and did one of the last Beastway races before the track closed a few years ago, but that's the extent of my race experience.

So...

I have no knowledge of what sort of regular events are happening, so could anyone advise me on where to look for some races/trail events in the South East area?

Thanks in advance, Alex.

Comments

• njee20
    njee20 Posts: 9,613
    Whereabouts in the South East? The Gorrick series are Berkshire/Hampshire way, run monthlyish from September to May. There's also a related enduro series 'Brass Monkey's that offer 2 or 4 hour events.

The Southern XC series are a bit more serious, there's one in September. If you're more East than South there's Mud Sweat and Gears, although I don't know dates and what not.
  • AlexJCook
    Hey I'm in Kent, but willing to travel.

What defines an 'Enduro' ? I've heard the term before but I don't know the difference between that and any other race.

I'm expecting to be riding again around September, but probably not back to proper fitness until the Winter, are there still a lot of events in the Winter time?
  • njee20
    Enduro is a bit misused in this context, marathon would be closer, it's a time based event not laps. So at an XC race like the Gorricks you choose an ability category which has an associated number of laps - faster categories more laps, whilst with an Enduro you choose a time and it's all comers. There's plenty on in winter, more than summer if you want to stay local.
  • AlexJCook
    Awesome thanks a lot!