Can you manual an XC bike?

mattrgee
mattrgee Posts: 157
edited June 2011 in MTB beginners
Hi guys,

I've been trying to improve my general skills recently, starting with seated wheelies and also manuals. While I can get the front wheel off the ground with a couple of pedal strokes, I'm finding doing a manual very difficult. Typically, are XC bikes more difficult to manual than something with slacker geometry? Shortening the stem isn't an option as the bike is a little short already. The stem is 110mm.

Comments

• nozzac
    nozzac Posts: 408
    An XC bike with a very long stem and low bars is gonna be harder than something more upright and less stretched because it's easier to get your weight back without trying on the latter but people manual all sorts of bikes. Check out what Martyn Ashton can do on a carbon road bike: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5z1fSpZNXhU

I'm no expert but what I do know is that it's all about shifting your weight back quickly before with the pulling of the straight arms and pushing with the legs, heels down. If you just try to pull up you won't get anywhere but if you compress and then throw your weight much further back than you'd think (think getting your bum over wheel like on a very steep descent) it's a lot easier to get the wheel up and get it up higher.

I've got an old Trek from the 90s with a 120mm stem and flat bars. Those old XC bikes are longer and lower than the ones today as far as I can tell. I can still manual it fine but I have to get my weight back much more and get my legs into the action.
  • Generally xc bikes are designed to climb well so geometry is set up to keep the front wheel down.

What you maybe able to do if your bike has an inline seatpost is change it for a layback post and some wider bars this should give you a lil scope to run a shorter stem and make the bike feel livelier and more controlled
  • stubs
    stubs Posts: 5,001