Pins & Needles in my hands

cuffylad
cuffylad Posts: 8
edited June 2011 in MTB beginners
I have just got a new ride (spesh hardrock).

I have taken it out on a few test rides to get it setup up (nothing over 10miles and all on roads). After 20mins I get bad pins and needles in both my hands, I am staying relaxed and dont have a death grip.

Could this be due to incorrect setup, eg seat too high or handle bars too low so my weight is all on my hands when riding, im not a very light guy (18st and dropping :D ). Or could it be that im new to mountain biking and just need to get bedded in more?

Any advice would be most welcome.

Comments

• supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    Try rotating the controls on the bars so they lie in the same plane as your arms.

Experimenting with set up is always worth it. If it fails, have a look at Specialized BG grips.
  • bluechair84
    bluechair84 Posts: 4,352
    What you're experiencing is a common problem so there's loads of options for you. It's lilkely that you are putting too much pressure on the ulnar nerve: hand_guyon_canal_anat01.jpg It runs from your little finger, through the pad of your hand and up your arm. You should try to protect this nerve. There are gloves with more padding around this area, you could try thicker and softer grips, or you could try some ergon gripsthat have a broader shoulder around this area.
    Finally, when you are seated comfortably, your brake levers should sit 180deg around the bars from your arm . you should be able to draw a line from your shoulder to you knuckles over the brake levers. If they are significantly higher or lower, this could have an effect.
    Hope this helps.
  • Rybes
    Rybes Posts: 110
    supersonic wrote:
    Try rotating the controls on the bars so they lie in the same plane as your arms.
    Experimenting with set up is always worth it. If it fails, have a look at Specialized BG grips.