Sportive

pauldavid
pauldavid Posts: 392
edited June 2011 in Amateur race
Hi all,

Sorry for the stupid question but in my defence I am completely new to cycling.

Could someone explain to me what a Sportive is??

thanks in advance

Comments

• sub55
    sub55 Posts: 1,025
    an audax for soft people
    constantly reavalueating the situation and altering the perceived parameters accordingly
  • pauldavid
    In that case, what is an audax?? :oops:
  • turnerjohn
    turnerjohn Posts: 1,069
    sub55 wrote:
    an audax for soft people

isnt an audax a slow Sportif ? :shock:
  • sub55
    constantly reavalueating the situation and altering the perceived parameters accordingly
  • sub55
    turnerjohn wrote:
    sub55 wrote:
    an audax for soft people

isnt an audax a slow Sportif ? :shock:
    :lol::lol::lol:
  • gattocattivo
    gattocattivo Posts: 500
    To be kind and answer the question:

A sportive is different from a race in that
    a) you don't all set off at the same time
    b) the distance is usually longer than most races
    c) you get wildly differing levels of ability
    d) because of a & c the riders aren't all in one bunch, but in dozens of small groups or alone
    e) officially you're not racing (but most of them give you a time when you finish), just trying to complete the ride (which is often deliberately routed over all the toughest climbs in the area)
    f) you get lots more riders (hundreds, maybe even thousands)
  • pauldavid
    Thanks for that, I believe I've got a bit of understanding now.

I thought it was going to be a good way to get into some entry level competition but you say it isn't really a race.

Can anyone recommend what should be the first step into competition for a slow new starter who is also a poor climber but cannot shake off his competitive spirit??
  • mattshrops
    mattshrops Posts: 1,134